top of page
  • Writer's pictureTingting F

Design Poster 1 #DES101

Updated: May 5, 2020


Title: Strange World

Theme: Visual representation

Creative tools: Paper, Black marker



Haiku poem:

Mellow May

Butterflies in trees.

Brilliant sunsets, starry eves.

Time for ice cream, please!

(Cisco, 2018).



Description:

My title of the design is “Strange World”, which is also extracted from the haiku poem. When I first saw the poem "Butterfly on the tree", I was puzzled and strange, wondering why butterflies are in trees. In my opinion, butterflies should be attracted to flowers, not big trees. This is strange for me. Hence, I used the “strange world” to design my favorite game “Monument Valley” and focus on the visual effects of my design.

I apply the theory of lines in my design. There are different types of lines: vertical, horizontal, diagonal, broken, thick, thin, and so on. They can affect people’s perceptions of space differently (Eilers, 2016). The numerous lines integrated together help create a harmonious yet mysterious world because of human perceptions. Then, the lines are not distributed in the form direction or form, which can enable the audience to further explore it. This can make also make the audience feel strange.

Regarding this poster, I think it has both advantages and disadvantages. One good thing is that it meets the requirements of making this poster. I did not use digital media to make it. I only used paper and black markers and a ruler to create it. In my opinion, hand drawing and digital media production are completely different. The sense of hand-drawing is a feeling that digital media cannot bring. Drawing with a computer can be very precise and complicated. But this poster has flaws. This geometric visual poster might look a bit simple so that the audience will not feel very impressed. This might make the audience miss the theme of the design.


References:

Cisco, Patricia L. (2018). Mellow May. Retrieved April 2nd, 2020,


Eilers, Lucas. (2016). Elements and Principles of Design: Line, Space & Shape. Retrieved April 3rd, 2020, from http://www.lucaseilers.com/2016/08/elements-principles-design-line-space-shape/



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page